In Virginia, Maryland and Washington DC, traffic violations are very common. Although traffic violations are common, receiving a traffic ticket can require you to pay expensive fines and may even affect your driving record permanently.
Driving without a license is a serious traffic violation with unique guidelines. If you have received a ticket for driving without a license in Virginia, Maryland or Washington DC, you should know that traffic laws are different in each area. This could affect your case. To learn more about the guidelines for driving without a license in your area, visit the following pages:
Driving Without a License in Virginia
In Virginia, a driver can be issued a charge for driving without a license if they fall into any of the following categories:
- The individual has failed to apply for a license.
- The individual has not passed some/or all required driving tests.
- The individual has never held a license.
Virginia traffic laws and regulations clearly state anyone operating a motor vehicle on any roadway MUST have a valid driver’s license. In Virginia, an individual must pass all required tests which include written exams, driving tests and a visual exam.
Driving in Virginia without a license is a criminal offense and is typically classified as a Class 1 or Class 2 misdemeanor. Before issuing a penalty, the courts must consider the specific circumstances of your case in addition to your driving history. A poor driving record or multiple offenses will negatively affect your case.
To learn more about Virginia’s laws and penalties for driving without a license, please read:
Driving Without a License in Maryland
Maryland has unique guidelines for issuing a penalty for a charge of driving without a license. Before 2006, a charge of driving without a license could be considered as a “fine only” offense. However, in 2006, Maryland traffic authorities altered the charge for driving without a license, making the penalties much more severe.
Currently, driving without a license is considered a “must appear” offense and carries a maximum fine of $500.00 This means that if you receive a ticket for driving without a license in Maryland, you will be required to appear in court and may be responsible for paying a fine of up to $500.00
Drivers should be aware that the penalties for repeat offenses become much more severe. For repeat offenses, penalties can include jail time or assessment of points against your license in addition to a fine. You can have points assessed against your driver’s license even if you do not have a valid driver’s license at the time you received the ticket. Having points assessed against your license can make acquiring a driver’s license in the future much more difficult.
To learn more about Maryland’s laws and penalties for driving without a license, please read:
How we can help
Having a charge of driving without a license can impact your life negatively with heavy fines, possible jail time and even assessment of points against your driver’s license. Being charged with driving without a license can hurt your future and can make obtaining a valid driver’s license in the future much more difficult.
Have You Been Charged With A Traffic Violation In Virginia, Maryland or Washington D.C.?
If you've been charged with a traffic violation you need to speak with an experienced traffic defense lawyer as soon as possible. Please contact us online or call our Vienna, Virgnia office directly at 703.991.7978 or our Rockville, Maryland office at 301.637.5392 to schedule your free case consultation.